Sunshine Blogger Award

I am delighted that The Invisible Disability and Me has been nominated for another award! This time we have been awarded the Sunshine Blogger Award by Dream Fly Discover. I am truly grateful for the award and to all of you who read my blog. P.s. I happen to love sunflowers too!

The Sunshine Blogger Award is given by bloggers to other bloggers who are “positive and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere” which is a lovely accolade to have. It is humbling to know that others view my blog as a positive source of information and I hope that it continues for a long time.

So our nomination comes from Dream Fly Discover, which I’m sure you can all guess from the title, is a travel blog. But this is a travel blog with a difference; as well as chronicling their adventures and stories from all over the globe, they also provide hilarity in the form of their #TravelFails which never fail to make me choke on my tea in mirth. The backpacking, travel failing, adventurous guy behind Dream Fly Discover has a wonderful witty and often sarcastic way of writing that makes you instantly feel like you’ve known him for years.

Thank you to Dream Fly Discover for the nomination!

And onto the rules of the Sunshine Blogger Award;

Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog – DONE.

Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you – SEE BELOW.

Nominate eleven blogs to receive the award and write them eleven new questions – SEE BELOW.

List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or your blog – DONE.

1. When did you start blogging and why?

I started blogging in November 2014 after being diagnosed with Sudden Sensorineural Hearing Loss. It was a challenging time for me, navigating my way through hearing loss for the second time in my life and upon finding little information online that was both helpful and was from a personal point of view, I set up my blog with the aim of raising awareness of Sudden Sensorineural Hearing Loss.

2. How did you pick the name for your blog?

I admit I had no idea what to call my blog at first. I toyed around with a few ideas that involved ‘ears’, ‘hearing loss’ and ‘deaf’ but none resonated with me. It was only after I started to write my first blog post about how my hearing is an invisible disability did the lightbulb switch on. And so The Invisible Disability And Me was born.

3. How do you come up with new ideas for you next blog post?

I take most of my inspiration from my daily life, if I come across a particular challenge I write about it. The aim is to not only educate people who are not aware of the effects of hearing loss and challenge the way they interact with the hard of hearing, but also to provide practical tips and advice for how to cope with everyday situations.

4. What does the future hold for your blog?

To be honest, I haven’t a clue. I hope to be able to continue my blog for a long while yet. I am lucky enough to write articles/blogs and be involved with other organisations such as Hearing Link, Restored Hearing and most recently, Hearing Wales so I hope to be able to get more involved with them. I’ve written a couple of articles that have been published and I’ve been filmed for promotional material on hearing loss, I’m also in the process of writing an e-book and considering a You-Tube channel so there are still some ideas floating around out there.

5. Where is your favourite holiday destination?

Ooh this is a difficult one as my husband and I are keen travellers. I think I would have to say Australia. We have only seen a small corner of Oz (Sydney, Brisbane and Port Douglas) but what we have seen, I have loved and I’m dying to go back and explore more.

6. Name two celebrities (one male, one female) that you would love to travel with and why.

Dead or alive? If I could choose ANY female it would be Audrey Hepburn; everyone who knows me, knows that I adore Audrey and her simple, classic beauty so I couldn’t pass up the chance to spend some time with her. Maybe she would bring her doe with her too, that would make travelling more fun too!

As for the male celebrity, my husband will kill me, but it would be Bradley Cooper. Who wouldn’t want to spend time with him?! I wouldn’t care where we ended up if he was there!

7. Name 3 essential items you have to pack whenever you travel.

My spare Cochlear Implant pack, a good book (I’m a self-confessed bookworm) and jewellery. I love a good statement necklace and I find when travelling they are great for sprucing up an outfit and changing your look instantly.

8. What is your travel style? Champagne and Caviar or Hostels and Hangovers?

I would love to say Champagne and Caviar but in truth, it’s probably in between the two. The husband and I don’t slum it at all on our holidays and we splurge where necessary but we do also make sure we look out for cheap deals and grab a bargain where possible.

9. What’s the funniest travel story you can remember?

Oh there are so many – they always seem to happen to us! The funniest I think has to be a prostitute turning up at our hotel door on Honeymoon and my husband answering the door in his underpants, and then me appearing in my negligee! I think she was a bit confused when we told her she must have the wrong room!

10. What does the future hold for your travel plans?

Well, it appears me and my husband cannot stop booking holidays at present and so our plans are already looking quite full. We’re off to Venice & Rome next week to celebrate our first wedding anniversary (ahh!), Frankfurt in December to see the Christmas Markets, Iceland in January to (hopefully) see the Northern Lights, Budapest in April and we also want to squeeze in a trip to India and Santorini sometime in 2017 too! Phew.

11. What is the main goal of your blog?/Where do you want it to take you?

The main aim of my blog is to educate and raise awareness of Sudden Sensorineural Hearing Loss as well as provide practical and useful tips for those dealing with hearing loss on a day-to-day basis. As I mentioned before, I’m working on an e-book and I hope to be able to get this published and reach a much wider audience, if I can grab 5 minutes to work on it and not hop on a plane that is!

My 11 questions:

1) What is the motivation behind your blog?

2) How would you describe the style of your writing?

3) How has your blog changed the way you see the world?

4) Who or what is your biggest inspiration in life and why?

5) If you could receive any kind of award in the world, what would it be and why?

6) How do you see your blog in 10 years’ time?

7) What is your greatest blogging achievement?

8) How do you keep finding inspiration for your posts?

9) How has social media affected your blog?

10) What is the one thing you are most scared of in life?

11) What advice would you offer for new bloggers?

My nominations:

1) www.hear2work.comBlogs about hearing loss in the workplace and reviews assistive equipment.

2) www.limpingchicken.com“The world’s most popular deaf blog”

3) www.adeafboyinaloudworld.wordpress.comA blog explaining the best and worst parts of being deaf.

4) www.deaffirefly.comBlog from Donna Williams, a deaf British Sign Language Poet, writer and consultant.

5) www.havewheelchairwilltravel.netA mother documents her travel experiences whilst travelling the world with her son who has Cerebral Palsy.

6) www.curbfreewithcorylee.comTravel addict Cory Lee documents his travels around the world from a wheelchair user’s perspective.

7) www.fredshead.infoSharing valuable tips and advice for and by people who are blind or have some form of vision impairment.

8) www.crippledscholar.wordpress.comPhD student who has ‘left side hemiplegic cerebral palsy’ blogs about disability issues.

9) www.allfurcoatandra.comBlogs about personal experiences living with Rheumatoid Arthritis and societies attitudes to illness and hidden disabilities.

10) www.wanderingearl.comTravel blog with a difference. Earl travels to places that very few people would even consider and tells his experiences in an incredibly honest way.

11) www.ehwhathuh.comA blog about education, deaf and hard of hearing issues and life with a hearing loss.  

Well Done to all of my nominations, you all are fantastic!

3 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

