Blogger Recognition Award

I am over the moon to announce that I have been nominated for a Blogger Recognition Award by the lovely Jerina over at All Fur Coat and RA.

I am truly delighted to have been nominated. Sometimes it feels like I am writing these posts to myself, sort of like a diary for me to look back on when I am old and infirm but it is genuinely wonderful to know that other people read my posts and (hopefully) find it helpful.

A big thank you to each and every one of you who has taken the time to read, comment on, share and like my blog posts.

So, the rules for Participating in the Blogger Recognition Award;

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

So my thanks go to the lovely Jerina at All Fur Coat and RA. Jerina is truly an inspiration; educating people on the struggles of life with Rheumatoid Arthritis and challenging people to look beyond the surface. Her RA means that she often has to undergo gruelling treatments to manage her condition but she does so with a massive smile, bags of style and plenty of panache. Here is her nomination of my post;

“Hi lovely, I have nominated you for a Blogger Recognition Award as I find your posts informative, funny and heartfelt. You are pushing the boundaries by taking your blog to new levels, raising awareness of hearing loss and I look forward to seeing updates of your exciting future ventures! You can find the nomination here https://allfurcoatandra.com/2016/07/25/blogger-recognition-award/

(and yes, I do make amazing cakes to order *hint hint*)

Thank you Jerina for your lovely, lovely words and congratulations on your own award nomination!

  • Write a post to show your award.

You are reading it now 🙂

  • Attach the award to your post.

Ta-Dahhh!

bloggerrec_award

  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.

My blog started in 2014 after I had been diagnosed with Sudden Sensorineural Hearing Loss (SSHL) and was facing life with little natural hearing. Having worn hearing aids since the age of 2, I have never been a stranger to hearing loss but this was a profound (almost total) hearing loss. As I struggled to adapt and learn how to cope with the feelings of isolation and silence, I turned to the internet.

Finding little information on SSHL, practical advice in the way of blogs or other online content, I decided to start my own blog, sharing tips and practical advice that I learnt along the way.

It has blossomed since then and I have been lucky enough to collaborate with Hearing Link and Restored Hearing on some guest blogs as well as having two published articles and being filmed for promotional material on hearing loss!

  • Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers.

The first and most important piece of advice I would offer is to write from the heart. When you are passionate about the subject matter; it not only comes easier to you from a writing perspective but it also comes across to the reader in a much more effective way. It follows that you should always write about a topic you personally know.

My second piece of advice would be to not use jargon. Whether that be medical jargon, legal jargon or good old-fashioned slang. Not everyone reading your blog will understand these and you really don’t want to alienate your readers!

  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

I haven’t quite managed to get 15 on there but as the saying goes, it’s quality over quantity!

Okay, so my nominations go to the following blogs;

Mindy is a cochlear implantee and MS sufferer based in the US. She blogs about daily life with MS and her implant as well as caring for her family and also touches on her experience with tinnitus.

Vera is the writer behind this particular blog. Vera suffered with a bad dose of flu which left her with tinnitus and some hearing loss which over time, has deteriorated. She currently wears hearing aids but potentially in the future might become a cochlear implantee if her hearing deteriorates any further. She reviews gadgets that can assist the hearing impaired and shares her experiences.

Bilateral Cochlear Implantee and fellow SSHL sufferer. Her experience with hearing loss echoes that of my own experience with SSHL and so is a blog I follow with interest. Her partner is also hearing impaired, and she says having a partner who understands hearing loss is a huge bonus.

Sheri Eberts writes a blog for people living with hearing loss. She has a genetic hearing loss which was only noticed in her mid-twenties but got progressively worse. She now wears hearing aids and has mild tinnitus as a result of the loss. She is an active hearing health advocate and blogs regularly.

The author of this blog suffers from Sensorineural hearing loss which has gotten progressively worse over the years, as well as suffering from tinnitus.

Sarah, a librarian, is hoping to create a more accessible communication friendly world and blogs about how her hearing loss has changed her as well as her hobbies and interests.

Tony Long has a blog on what is like being the partner of someone with a hearing impairment. It is refreshingly frank and honest and also extremely endearing at times. Tony and his wife Sue also share their hearing loss journey in a short video which can be found here; www.hearinglink.org/living/partners-children-family-hearing-people/partners-family-video/

For those of you who have read my blog, you will know that I love to travel along with my husband, the following nominations are for travel related blogs that I am currently loving.

This is one of my favourite blogs. Ed is a Cochlear Implantee and Travel Blogger wrapped all in one, combining two things I am passionate about and showing prospective CI users and current users alike that hearing loss and CI’s don’t hold you back from anything. He has worked with many travel brands and often shares his thoughts on being a deaf traveller.

Anika is on a mission to visit every country in the world, blogging and taking snaps along the way.  She has already been to an incredible 60 countries so far with no plans to stop anytime soon. Seriously jealous!!

A newbie to the travel blog scene, The Little MerMeg is a travel photographer and blogs about the importance of travelling as well giving some helpful tips for whilst you are backpacking. I’ll be checking back regularly for top tips for my next adventure.

  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide a link to the award post you created – Stand by your comment sections!
6 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

